Tags

, , , , ,

Deadline (UK TV series)

Deadline (UK TV series) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My instructor gave us an assignment dealing with deadlines, giving yourself a deadline, and following through with it. Most of the time we get easily distracted or wander from our objective as to say “Oh, a little break wont hurt,” but it can. So as part of our task is to write a blog post in five minutes. It may not be great, or completed, but the timer has started!I really like the idea of this assignment.

Many students do not understand or fully grasp the idea of working with deadlines, even those that seem to be impossible! I have had my fair share with deadlines. Most recently I was given only eight days to create a website from the ground up for a client at work. Needless to say, I was freaking out. It was my first “real” website that was not for my personal use, or my church. It had a very short deadline that I could work on it, and to make it more difficult, and stressful, I was only allowed to work on it in the office!

I am usually in the office only three days a week, and two of those days I am only in for six hours each day. So, over the period of eight days, I was in the office a total of five days, and had a total of 32 hours to complete the project. And of course you have to allocate time for emergencies, or crisis’s, which I did run into. It really gave me that real life experience that you cannot find in the classroom.

Needless to say it was a stressful but educational experience. Great practice for the real world is sitting down to your computer with a paper you have to write for class and giving yourself a deadline. Try to stick to it no matter what. To make it a bit more of a challenge, give yourself less time than you would like. It will help you with the idea of time crunches and the little things that sneak up on you and take away from you time on a project. Practice makes perfect!

